Skip to main content

Dean’s Office

DIRECTORY
Dr. Barry Joyner
Dean and Professor of Exercise Science
Office: Armstrong Campus-Ashmore Hall 131 and Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2123
Phone: Armstrong Campus: 912-344-2565 and Statesboro Campus: 912-478-5322
Email: joyner@georgiasouthern.edu
Dr. Stephen Rossi
Associate Dean for Institutional Effectiveness & Curriculum and Professor of Kinesiology
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2123A
Phone: 912-478-8557
E-mail: srossi@georgiasouthern.edu
Dr. Sandy Streater
Associate Dean
Office: Armstrong Campus-Ashmore Hall 131
Phone: 912-344-3174
Email: jstreater@georgiasouthern.edu
Kimberly Harp
Assistant to the Dean
Office: Armstrong Campus-Ashmore Hall 138 and Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2129
Phone: 912-478-5195
E-mail: kharp@georgiasouthern.edu
Jennifer Hoopes
Executive Assistant I
Office: Armstrong Campus-Ashmore Hall 131
Phone: 912-344-2565
E-mail: jhoopes@georgiasouthern.edu
Beth Sammons
Administrative Specialist
Office: Armstrong Campus-Ashmore Hall 138 and Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2127D
Phone: 912-478-1859
Email: bsammons@georgiasouthern.edu
Caroline Glover
Secretary to the Dean
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2123
Phone: 912-478-5322
Email: csglover@georgiasouthern.edu

ABOUT DEAN JOYNER

Dr. Joyner received his Bachelor of Science in Education with a major in Health and Physical Education from Georgia Southern College, his Master of Education in Physical Education from Auburn University, and his Doctor of Philosophy in Measurement and Evaluation from the University of Georgia.

Dr. Joyner began his academic career teaching middle and high school physical education in Cobb County Schools.  He came to Georgia Southern University in 1992. Dr. Joyner became an Associate Professor in the Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health (formerly housed in the Department of Health and Kinesiology, now School of Health & Kinesiology) from 1998 through 2005.  In 2005, he assumed the role of Professor and Chair of the Department (School) of Health and Kinesiology, a position he has held until now.

The author of over forty journal articles, numerous abstracts and local/state/national/international presentations, book chapters and reviews, Dr. Joyner has expertise in physical activity, exercise science, teaching/learning, and outcome assessment.  Most recently, he chaired the University Committee on Core Outcomes which produced an exceptional outline for the Board of Regents’ core educational requirements for Georgia Southern.  He holds an ex-officio role on the General Education Committee and has served on numerous University committees including Student Ratings of Instruction, Program Review, Faculty Roles and Rewards, and Graduate Assistant Allocation.

Last updated: 11/3/2017