Skip to main content

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing


Efforts to establish a local chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Honor Society of Nursing began in 1985 between the School of Nursing at Georgia Southern University in Statesboro and the Department of Nursing at Armstrong Atlantic State University in Savannah, Georgia. A joint chapter between the two institutions was founded and the first induction ceremony was held on May 3, 1990.

Since the initial chartering of that first chapter, membership and activity in Sigma Theta Tau continued to grow. In October 2002, members at each university were approved to form independent chapters.

With the consolidation of Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University in 2018, the two independent chapters once again reunited to form the single Rho Psi Chapter with membership and activities to include both campuses of Georgia Southern University.

Current Officers

PresidentJosh Kies, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC
President ElectTonya Sellers, DNP, APRN, AG-ACNP-BC
Vice PresidentMargaret Olsen, MSN, RN
Vice PresidentWendy Cohen, MSN, RN
SecretaryKari Mau, DNP, WHNP-BC, RNFA, C-EFM
TreasurerDanielle Peacock, MSN, RN, CPN
CounselorAriel Klauss, MSN, RN

Last updated: 8/5/2022